Busby SEO Test Golf

Loose Impediments

Relief
Except when both the loose impediment and the ball lie in or touch the same hazard, any loose impediment may be removed without penalty.

If the ball lies anywhere other than on the putting green and the removal of a loose impediment by the player causes the ball to move, Rule 18-2a applies.

On the putting green, if the bl or ball-marker moves in the process of the player removing any loose impediment, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the removal of the loose impediment. Otherwise, if the player causes the ball to move, he incurs a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a.

When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed.

Note: If the ball lies in a hazard, the player must not touch or move any loose impediment lying in or touching the same hazard – see Rule 13-4c.

Penalty for breach of rule:
Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

See also: Searching for ball in hazard

See also: Touching line of putt

One Trackback

  1. By Golf Rules and Decisions on March 17, 2009 at 3:16 am

    […] playing from the wrong place 21. Cleaning the ball 22. Ball Assisting or Interfering with Play 23. Loose Impediments 24. Obstructions 25. Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball, and Wrong Putting Green 26. Water […]