Busby SEO Test Golf

Ball at Rest Moved

By Outside Agency
If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

By Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment
a. General

When a player’s ball is in play, if:

(i) the player, his partner or either of their caddies lifts or moves it, touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing it) or causes it to move except as permitted by a Rule, or

(ii) equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to move,

the player incurs a penalty of one stroke. If the ball is moved, it must be replaced unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made.
Under the Rules there is no penalty if a player accidentally causes his ball to move in the following circumstances:

* In searching for a ball in a hazard covered by loose impediments or sand, for a ball in an abnormal ground condition or for a ball believed to be in water in a water hazard – Rule 12-1
* In repairing a hole plug or ball mark – Rule 16-1c
* In measuring – Rule 18-6
* In lifting a ball under a Rule – Rule 20-1
* In placing or replacing a ball under a Rule – Rule 20-3a
* In removing a loose impediment on the putting green – Rule 23-1
* In removing movable obstructions – Rule 24-1

b. Ball Moving After Address
If a player’s ball in play moves after he has addressed it (other than as a result of a stroke), the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke. The ball must be replaced unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made.

By Fellow-Competitor, Caddie or Equipment in Stroke Play
a. During Search
If, during search for a player’s ball, an opponent, his caddie or his equipment moves the ball, touches it or causes it to move, there is no penalty. If the ball is moved, it must be replaced.

b. Other Than During Search
If, other than during search for a player’s ball, an opponent, his caddie or his equipment moves the ball, touches it purposely or causes it to move, except as otherwise provided in the Rules, the opponent incurs a penalty of one stroke. If the ball is moved, it must be replaced.

See also: Playing a wrong ball

By Another Ball
If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.

Ball Moved in Measuring
If a ball or ball-marker is movedin measuring while proceeding under or in determining the application of a Rule, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of measuring. Otherwise, the provisions of Rules 18-2a, 18-3b or 18-4 apply.

*Penalty for breach of rule:
Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.
*If a player who is required to replace a ball fails to do so, he incurs the general penalty for breach of Rule 18. There is no additional penalty under Rule 18, except in the case of a wrongly substituted ball (Rule 15-2).

Note 1: If a ball to be replaced under this Rule is not immediately recoverable, another ball may be substituted.

Note 2: If the original lie of a ball to be placed or replaced has been altered, see Rule 20-3b.

Note 3: If it is impossible to determine the spot on which a ball is to be placed, see Rule 20-3c.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Golf Rules and Decisions on March 14, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    […] 14. Striking the Ball 15. Substituted Ball; Wrong Ball 16. The Putting Green 17. The Flagstick 18. Ball at Rest Moved 19. Ball in motion deflected or stopped 20. Lifting, dropping, and placing; playing from the wrong […]

  2. By Ball Played as it Lies on March 19, 2009 at 8:41 am

    […] See also: Ball at rest moved […]